Driver’s Education2018-08-13T11:04:23+00:00

Driver’s Education

Want to get your driver license?

We’ve got everything you need to help get you on the road as a safe and defensive driver.

From beginner courses to refresher courses and everything in between, we offer both in-class and in-car instruction to help you be the most informed, safe and defensive driver you can be, and most importantly, licensed!

Our classroom courses are 4-8 hours, depending on the course you choose. We make them short so you can build on your knowledge in smaller blocks, over longer periods of time. And, we have convenient locations throughout the Phoenix Metro area.

Just because you have your permit doesn’t mean you can’t take a class. Our courses are designed to be spread out so you retain the knowledge you are learning. Most students start with our in-class session or our online program to get their permit. Driving instruction can start next, and there are several packages to choose from depending on your skill level and experience. Once getting some experience on the road, we recommend our Alive@25® class. After licensed, consider following up with our Defensive Driving class as a volunteer to help you remember safe and defensive driving habits.

IN-CAR PACKAGES

PLATINUM

$598
  • The easiest, most convenient way to get your driver license!
  • 6 Hours Classroom Training
  • 10 Hours In-Car Training
  • Permit exam
  • Details

GOLD

$579
549
Back to School Special!
  • One-on-one lessons with an MVD-certified trainer.
  • 10 Hours In-Car Training
  • MVD Road Test Waiver
  • Discounts on Classroom Courses
  • Details

SILVER

$309
  • Two (2) driving lessons of 2 hours and 30 minutes each.
  • 5 Hours In-Car Training
  • Insurance Certificate
  • Discounts on Classroom Courses
  • Details

BRONZE

$169
  • Need more practice before you take the MVD test?
  • 2.5 hour In-Car Training
  • Insurance Certificate
  • Discounts on Classroom Courses
  • Details

IN-CAR PACKAGE DETAILS

PLATINUM

$598

This class is designed for you to pass the written MVD test. Because this location is next to a third-party MVD for convenient testing, you will receive your Instructional Permit the same day as the class. Plus, we have a 98 percent pass rate on the first attempt and 100 percent pass rate on the second attempt. Watch multiple videos and get valuable information on Arizona traffic laws and safe driving practices, all while you laugh and learn.

  • Must be an Arizona resident to get your instructional permit.
  • This behind-the-wheel program is broken down into four (4) driving lessons of 2 hours and 30 minutes each. It covers everything from parking and basic car control to more complex traffic like one-way streets and freeway driving. These lessons are given in our vehicles, one-on-one with an MVD-certified trainer, who during the last driving lesson will give each student an MVD road evaluation. If the student passes with a minimum score of 80, he or she will receive a Training Completion Certificate to take to the MVD office for their license, bypassing the MVD road test. If the student does not pass the road evaluation test, he or she may purchase an additional lesson at a discounted rate or schedule a retest at any of our locations free of charge.
  • If under 18 years old, the student must hold their permit for 6 months before getting their license or until the student reaches 18.
  • Must be an Arizona Resident.
  • Students get transportation to an authorized third-party MVD provider to get their physical license on the same day as the last lesson. Fees will apply, but parents will never have to go to the MVD!
  • A written permit exam will be given at an MVD-authorized, third-party provider on the same day as classroom training. MVD fees will apply.

GOLD

$579
549
Back to School Special!

This behind-the-wheel program is broken down into four (4) driving lessons of 2 hours and 30 minutes each. It covers everything from parking and basic car control to more complex traffic like one-way streets and freeway driving. These lessons are given in our vehicles, one-on-one with an MVD-certified trainer, who during the last driving lesson will give each student an MVD road evaluation. If the student passes with a minimum score of 80, they will receive a Training Completion Certificate to take to the MVD office for their license, bypassing the road test. If the student does not pass the road evaluation test, he or she may purchase an additional lesson at a discounted rate or schedule a retest at any of our Valley locations.

  • If under 18 years old, the student must hold their permit for 6 months from date of issue before getting their license or until the student reaches 18.
  • Must be an Arizona Resident.
  • Students get transportation to an authorized third-party MVD provider to get their physical license day on the same day as the last lesson. Fees will apply, but parents will never have to go to the MVD!
  • Each additional 2 hours 30 minutes is only $124 with this package.
  • During your final session, one of our MVD-certified trainers will give you a MVD-approved road evaluation, which will allow you to waive the road test at the MVD. The student will drive to one of our locations for their final evaluation.
  • Must be an Arizona Resident.
  • Student can get driver license from MVD-authorized, third-party provider on the same day as the last lesson
  • When you purchase any of our in-car packages, you are awarded major discounts on each of our classroom courses!
  • Receive $50.00 OFF Alive@25® course! Learn more.

SILVER

$309

This behind-the-wheel program is broken down into two (2) driving lessons of 2 hours and 30 minutes each. It covers everything from parking and basic car control to more complex traffic like one-way streets and freeway driving. These lessons are given in our vehicles, one-on-one with an MVD-certified trainer, preparing the student for the MVD road test at a MVD field office.

  • This package does not include the MVD written or road test waiver, but you will receive an insurance certificate that may lower your insurance rates.
  • When you purchase any of our in-car packages, you are awarded major discounts on each of our classroom courses!
  • Receive $50.00 OFF Alive@25® course! Learn more.

BRONZE

$169

Need more practice before you take the MVD test? Book a 2-hour, 30-minute in-car MVD-approved training session with one of our certified instructors. This package prepares students for the MVD road test at an MVD field office. We cover everything from parking and basic car control to more complex traffic like one-way streets and freeway driving. These lessons are given in our vehicles and are one-on-one with an MVD certified instructor.

  • Insurance Certificate
  • This package does not include the MVD written or road test waiver, but you will receive an insurance certificate that may lower your insurance rates.
  • Extreme Discounts on Classroom Courses
  • When you purchase any of our in-car packages, you are awarded major discounts on our classroom courses!

CLASSROOM/ONLINE ONLY PACKAGES

(NO IN-CAR TRAINING)

30 HOUR PERMIT WAIVER COURSE

$99
  • 24 hrs Online + 6 hrs Classroom Instruction
  • Includes MVD Permit Test Waiver!
  • Details

8HR CLASS FOR PERMIT TEST

$99
  • 8 hrs of Classroom Instruction
  • Written test at Authorized provider
  • Details

CLASSROOM/ONLINE PACKAGE DETAILS

(NO IN-CAR TRAINING)

30 HOUR PERMIT WAIVER COURSE

$99

24 hrs Online + 6 hrs Classroom Instruction for Instructional Permit

Our state-approved program is an easy and convenient way to obtain your Instructional Permit without taking the MVD written test. Taking this driver’s education class online allows you to obtain your Arizona driver permit at your own pace, with simple-to-use and easy-to-understand material in a user-friendly format.

The online driver education course takes a state required 30 hours of instruction to WAIVE your MVD Instructional Permit Exam. After completing the Stop and Go Driving School 24 hour online and 6 hour classroom course you will be able to get your Instructional permit if you are least 15 1/2.

8HR CLASS FOR PERMIT

$99

8 hrs Classroom Training

This package consists of the following:

PLEASE NOTE: Classroom. Written instructional permit test given at an Authorized third party provider on day of class next to our 27th Ave andBethany Home (transportation provided for Main Ofc at Dobson and Main St classroom locations. Please bring $32 for third party MVD fees

You will need to answer yes to each question in order to take this class.

  1. You must be an Arizona resident.
  2. You must be at least 15 ½ years old on day of class.
  3. Parent or Legal guardian to sign application in front of a Notary if under 18 during check-in.
  4. Original Arizona ID card or Birth Certificate or Passport.
  5. Original Social Security Card
  6. School ID or work ID (ID with a picture)
  7. Your parents or Legal Guardian, if under 18 will need to sign MVD Application at beginning of class.
  8. Third Party fee is NOT included in price of package.

*If a student fails the written test given by an Authorized third party provider, the student can retake class free of charge or schedule to cometo these location and retake written test.

This classroom course is only offered at our Central Phoenix location – 6025 N 27th Ave #2 Phoenix 85017, or Mesa 1933 W Main Street Mesa AZ 85201

ADDITIONAL COURSES

Alive@25®

Keeping young adults safer on the road with a four-hour defensive driving classroom course.

LEARN MORE

Car Care and Safety®

Learn more than you ever thought you could about how to stay safe on the road during this fun four-hour course.

LEARN MORE

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is Stop and Go’s Cancellation Policy?2018-02-12T12:14:33+00:00

Stop and Go Driving School maintains a 48-hour cancellation policy. If you cancel a drive less than 48 hours before your scheduled drive or are a no-show for a scheduled drive, there will be a $50 cancellation fee.

Where are classes held?2018-02-12T12:11:52+00:00

We offer multiple locations throughout the valley. View locations.

How much driving does my teen need to meet state requirements?2018-02-12T12:11:11+00:00

An applicant for a class G license must have a current Arizona instructional permit, which has been held for at least 6 months, or have a driver license from another state. An applicant must also have successfully completed a state-certified driver’s education program consisting of 10 hours (minimum) of in-car instruction; or the parent/guardian must provide documentation that the student has completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 night hours.

What does in-car driving Instruction consist of?2018-02-23T12:32:13+00:00

Instructors will provide students with a variety of skill building exercises that prepare them to get their driver license, including but not limited to the following:

  • High-volume traffic areas
  • Complex driving, such as downtown Phoenix
  • Airport and freeway driving
  • Parallel parking/3-point turn
  • Defensive Driving skills
  • Rural/Residential driving
  • Lane changing
  • Parking maneuvers
  • Uphill/Downhill parking
  • Scanning
  • Speed control

If a student chooses to purchase our Gold or Platinum package, they will be given an evaluation on their last hour of instruction, administered by our MVD certified tester.

This evaluation will waive the MVD road test. Every driving package will result in a MVD practice test and an insurance discount certificate.

What does MVD licensed/certified mean?2018-02-12T12:09:02+00:00

The Arizona MVD approves and regulates professional driving schools. Schools must submit an application, provide extensive documentation regarding offered programming and be licensed by the MVD. Beware of schools that aren’t Arizona MVD certified or licensed. The MVD will only waive written and road tests from licensed and certified schools, regardless of how many hours of online, classroom or in-car training you have received. Whichever school you choose, make sure it’s an MVD-licensed school.

Who are the trainers and what are their credentials?2018-02-12T12:08:08+00:00

All trainers have successfully completed background checks, obtained fingerprint clearance, completed extensive training, been drug tested and passed an exam administered by the Arizona MVD. Most of our trainers are former school teachers, law enforcement officers, and bus drivers.

Will I receive an insurance discount for taking these classes?2018-02-12T12:07:26+00:00

All students completing a driving program through Stop and Go Driving School will be issued a completion certificate to present to your insurance company. This certificate will satisfy most insurance carriers, however we highly recommend that you check with your insurance agent to determine whether your policy has specific requirements to be eligible for a discount.

What is an operator license (class D license)?2018-02-12T12:06:22+00:00

An operator license allows you to drive any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial license. You must be at least 18 years old to apply for an operator license.

What is a graduated license (class G license)?2018-02-12T12:05:42+00:00

If you are at least 16, but less than 18 years of age, you will be issued a graduated driver license that is valid to operate with restrictions. Learn about the restrictions of a graduated license on the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division website at http://www.azdot.gov.

What documents are needed to obtain a permit and license?2018-02-23T12:36:52+00:00

All students are required by state and federal law to provide a social security number to verify identity. Also, when applying for a permit/license, students are required to provide the following:

  • One document must be a primary source of identification (i.e., state of Arizona permit, birth certificate, U.S. passport, Arizona ID card, U.S. Military ID card).
  • Two types of documents:
    • One must have a clear photo or three types of documents without a photo.
    • One document can be a secondary document source (i.e., social security card, W-2 form, bank card, school ID with photo, employee ID with photo, credit card).
  • All documents must be originals or certified copies only!
What are the restrictions with a permit?2018-02-12T12:00:52+00:00

For the first six months, a driver with a graduated driver license shall not drive a motor vehicle between the hours of midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless:

  1. A parent or legal guardian with a valid Class A, B, C or D license occupies the front passenger seat or
  2. Driving directly to or from a sanctioned school-sponsored activity, place of employment, a sanctioned religious activity or a family emergency.
When is my teen eligible for a driver license / how long do I have to keep a permit?2018-02-23T12:35:59+00:00

Arizona requires anyone under 18yrs to hold their instructional permit for 6 months from the date of issue, or until they turn 18yrs, whichever comes first.  At this time, upon successfully passing the road evaluation or MVD road test, the student may get their driver license.

What if my permit expires?2018-02-23T12:34:27+00:00

If your permit expires, you must contact a MVD or Licensed third party MVD to renew your permit before you are able to continue to drive.  A valid permit must be carried at all times.

How long is a permit valid and can I renew it?2018-02-23T12:35:06+00:00

If your permit expires, you must contact a MVD or Licensed third party MVD to renew your permit before you are able to continue to drive.  A valid permit must be carried at all times.

When is my teen eligible for a permit?2018-02-12T11:58:11+00:00

The Arizona MVD requires that a teen must be at least 15 years and 6 months to be eligible for a permit.

What our customers are saying…

My daughter was lucky enough to go through Stop and Go driving instruction, where she was able to get behind the wheel and the classroom instruction had convenient hours. I am confident in the driving skills she acquired through their instruction.

Jay S.

HAVE QUESTIONS?

Click or call
(602) 896-9606