Defensive Driving2018-04-25T23:17:59+00:00

Defensive Driving

Ticket dismissal and/or point removal.

Defensive Driving is a four-hour class that teaches students Arizona driving laws, how to drive defensively and safely, as well as how to survive the driving mistakes of others. Available in class or online, the Defensive Driving class can be taken instead of paying a ticket and to avoid accumulating points on your record for eligible violations. Attend as a volunteer for a refresher course or to reduce insurance rates. We have convenient locations throughout the Phoenix Metro area.

One of the biggest mistakes that people make when driving is underestimating other drivers on the road. You may be extremely confident with your driving skills, but that will not prevent you from any dangers that may come from another inexperienced or distracted driver you encounter.

It is ideal for people who:

  • Have not taken Defensive Driving in at least the last 12 months from violation date

  • Have not accumulated too many points on their record

  • Want to lower insurance rates and take as a volunteer

  • Want a refresher course on Arizona’s driving laws

REGISTER FOR DEFENSIVE DRIVING ONLINE NOW!

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

The difference between Defensive Driving and Traffic Survival School2018-02-16T14:02:22+00:00

Too many people get defensive driving school and traffic survival school confused. After all, even the names sound similar and they can be confusing to those who don’t understand the differences between the two. But in the interests of clarity, let our Arizona Traffic School outline for you exactly what the differences are between the two schools, so when you determine what you need and how you need it, you can see what works for you and what may not:


Traffic Survival School is Mandatory

Arizona Traffic School options all provide traffic survival school courses and lessons, as it is mandatory to drive in the state of Arizona. Traffic survival school is an eight-hour course, in-class, that is monitored and mandated by the state of Arizona and the Motor Vehicle Department itself. If you are notified to attend, it is required that you must attend the classes in order to avoid having your license suspended or voided.

If you have accumulated between eight and twelve points on your driving record, if you have had a DUI or have been arrested for driving under the influence, if you have been convicted of any red light violation at any point, or if you have had a first violation under the age of 18, you are required to attend traffic survival school when it comes to getting your record back and intact. It is both for your safety, and for the safety of the other drivers out on the road around you.


Defensive Driving is Optional

Defensive driving in AZ is an optional course that does not need to be taken by anybody, but is strongly recommended. Defensive driving is a four hour class that you can take either in class, or online. The class is taken in place of paying a ticket, to avoid accumulating points on your record for eligible violations.

Arizona defensive driving school is a pretty simple process, and it is ideal for people who have not taken defensive driving in at least the last 12 months from violation date, or for those who have not accumulated too many points on their record.

All in all, both traffic survival school and defensive driving courses are important for people who are seeking to get the most out of their driving and traffic experiences, though they need to understand that the two courses are ideal for two different sets of people. A good Arizona traffic school will provide options for both courses, while seeing to it that the right person gets in the right course, to ensure you get the most out of your courses, as well as meeting the right obligations from the state as you move forward with healthy and safe driving, and a clean record on your license in the state of Arizona.

What is Stop and Go’s Cancellation Policy?2018-02-12T12:14:33+00:00

Stop and Go Driving School maintains a 48-hour cancellation policy. If you cancel a drive less than 48 hours before your scheduled drive or are a no-show for a scheduled drive, there will be a $50 cancellation fee.

Where are classes held?2018-02-12T12:11:52+00:00

We offer multiple locations throughout the valley. View locations.

What does MVD licensed/certified mean?2018-02-12T12:09:02+00:00

The Arizona MVD approves and regulates professional driving schools. Schools must submit an application, provide extensive documentation regarding offered programming and be licensed by the MVD. Beware of schools that aren’t Arizona MVD certified or licensed. The MVD will only waive written and road tests from licensed and certified schools, regardless of how many hours of online, classroom or in-car training you have received. Whichever school you choose, make sure it’s an MVD-licensed school.

Who are the trainers and what are their credentials?2018-02-12T12:08:08+00:00

All trainers have successfully completed background checks, obtained fingerprint clearance, completed extensive training, been drug tested and passed an exam administered by the Arizona MVD. Most of our trainers are former school teachers, law enforcement officers, and bus drivers.

Will I receive an insurance discount for taking these classes?2018-02-12T12:07:26+00:00

All students completing a driving program through Stop and Go Driving School will be issued a completion certificate to present to your insurance company. This certificate will satisfy most insurance carriers, however we highly recommend that you check with your insurance agent to determine whether your policy has specific requirements to be eligible for a discount.

ADDITIONAL COURSES

Alive@25®

Keeping young adults safer on the road with a four-hour defensive driving classroom course.

LEARN MORE

Car Care and Safety

Learn more than you ever thought you could about how to stay safe on the road during this fun four-hour course.

LEARN MORE

HAVE QUESTIONS?

Click or call
(602) 896-9606