- When is my teen eligible for a permit?
The Arizona MVD requires that a teen must be at least 15 years 6 months to be eligible for a permit.
- How long is a permit valid and can I renew it?
A permit is valid for one year from the issue date. If you are approaching expiration, you may renew for an additional year. If you renew BEFORE the permit has expired, you do not need to re-take the written test, however if you let your permit expire, you will be required to take the written test to obtain the permit again.
- When is my teen eligible for a driver’s license / how long do I have to keep a permit?
The AZ MVD issues driver’s licenses to students who have held their permit for at least 6 months and have passed a road skills test.
- What are the restrictions with a permit?
Individuals with an instruction permit must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.
- What are the restrictions with a graduated license?
Graduated licenses are issued to students between the ages of 16 and 18 who have held an instruction permit for at least 6 months.
- What documents are needed to obtain a permit / license?
All students are required by state and federal law to provide a social security number to verify identity. Also when applying for a permit / license, students are required to provide the following:
- Two types of documents: one must have a clear photo OR Three types of documents without a photo
- One document must be a primary source I.e.: AZ permit, birth certificate, US passport, AZ ID card, US Military ID card
- One document can be a Secondary document source I.E.: Social security card, w-2 form, bank card, school ID with photo, employee ID with photo, credit card.
- All documents must be originals OR certified copies.
- What kind of testing occurs to obtain a permit?
6 hour classroom instruction:
Stop and Go Driving gives each student two MVD approved practice written test when they take the classroom instruction. The MVD written test and Stop and Go written test will be 50 questions and a student must score an 80 percent to pass. Stop and Go will introduce students to the main topics that are provided in the MVD Written Exam Manual. With this course the student will have to take the Permit Exam at an Arizona Motor Vehicle Division.
30 hour classroom instruction:
Stop and Go Driving School will issue a Waiver that MAY let the student bypass the written test at the MVD. The thirty hour curriculum will teach students everything they will need to know to be safe drivers on the road. Safety is our priority.
- What is a graduated license (class G license)?
A graduated license is issued to students who are at least 16 years old but less than 18 years old who have held a valid AZ permit for at least 6 months.
- What is an operators license (class D license)?
An operator license is issued to students over 18 years of age.
- Will I receive an insurance discount for taking these classes?
All students completing a driving program through Stop and Go Driving School will be issued a completion certificate to present to your insurance company. This certificate will satisfy most insurance carriers, however we highly recommend that you check with your insurance agent to determine whether your policy has specific requirements to be eligible for a discount.
- Who are the instructors and what are their credentials?
All instructors have successfully completed background checks, obtained fingerprint clearance, completed extensive training, and passed an exam administered by the AZ Motor Vehicle Division. Our instructors are former school teachers, Law Enforcement officers, and Bus Drivers.
- What does MVD licensed / certified mean?
The Arizona MVD approves and regulates professional driving schools. Schools must submit an application and provide extensive documentation regarding offered programming.
- How much does your program cost?
- What does six hours of In-Car Driving Instruction consists of?
What does 12 hours of In-Car Driving Instruction consists of? Stop and Go Driving School offers 10 hours of in-car (behind-the-wheel) training to meet state and students’ needs.The 12 hour behind-the-wheel driving instruction program includes 6 lessons / 3 hours each. Students don’t need any prior experience driving, that’s what we are here to do, teach you how to drive. Although the state of Arizona requires students to take 10 hours of instruction to be issued a waiver, the student still must pass a MVD approved road evaluation. Instructors will work to provide students with a variety of skill building exercises including but not limited to the following:o High volume traffic area so Complex Driving such as Downtown Phoenix ect.o Freeway driving/Merging
o Parallel parking
o Defensive driving
o Rural/Residential Driving
o Parking Maneuvers
o Up Hill/Down Hill Parking
o Scanning/Speed Control
During the 10th hour of instruction, The Stop and Go approved MVD tester will administer the MVD approved road evaluation. There is no guarantee that student completing the 10 hour program will obtain a waiver. Individuals learn at different rates and some students may not be ready after 10 hours. Your individual instructor will provide information regarding your particular situation and advise you of your options throughout Instruction.
- What is Alive at 25?The Alive at 25 course is now included as part of our 7hr Classroom Instruction. We are the only driving school in Arizona that’s certified to teach Alive at 25’s classroom program…this course is the National Safety Council’s defensive driving course designed specifically for teens!This 4-hour course serves as an excellent complement to standard driver education programs – and is ideal for young drivers (ages 15-24). Through interactive media, workbook exercises and class discussions, young drivers develop strategies to keep them safe on the road. Learn more about this course here.
- How much driving does my teen need to meet state requirements?
An applicant for a class G license must have a current Arizona instruction permit, which has been held for at least 6 months, or have a driver license from another state. An applicant must also have successfully completed a state certified driver education program OR the parent / guardian must provide documentation that the student has completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 night hours.
More information can be found on the Arizona MVD website at http://www.azdot.gov.